Miracle Monday – homeschool

I didn’t always want to homeschool. In fact, when I was younger, I knew a homeschool family and I thought they were weird. Guess who’s the weird one now?

Yes, that’s us. We became the weird family that doesn’t let their kids take the big yellow bus. 

I first started to consider homeschooling when my my two older children were having difficulties in public school. After completing grade 2 and kindergarten, I thought I’d take the summer to try it out with them. We had fun learning that summer. We mostly focused on science experiments and reading. Once summer was over, we all knew we had to keep going. We were having way too much fun learning as a family.

But there was one problem. I needed to work part-time so my husband and I could make ends meet. I had a great job at the hospital. Government job with great benefits, it was difficult to decide what to do. I didn’t realize at the time that God already had a plan for me.

I started teaching dance lessons in my community in the evenings and after a little while, I realized my income with dance would equal the same as my job if I only taught one more night a week.

I had spent that Fall teaching the kids 4 days a week while working 3 days a week at the hospital and 2 evenings a week at the studio. It worked great for the first few months, but was quickly taking its toll on me. I decided to take a leap of faith and quit my job at the hospital to take on more teaching hours. This permitted me to be at home all day while working 3 evenings a week at the studio. Finally, I could homeschool my kids during regular school hours and have more free time with my family.

The following year, my business really took off and I was teaching a few more classes a week. God had a great plan. I worked in the evenings while I was with my children during the day. My job even allowed me to teach my daughter dance lessons for free! Bonus!

This is how I spent my first 3 years of homeschool. God really pulled through by providing me with an income that would allow me to stay at home. He had placed on my heart the need to raise my children in the ways of the Lord. If was difficult for us to do that while they were in public school. It might work for others, but it didn’t work for us. Now, we love mixing academics with Bible studies.

You might think that our story ends there, yet God had other plans for us. A surprise! My husband found himself in a situation where he could start a home business and make enough money that I wouldn’t need to work anymore. I could be a full-time stay-at-home mom. Not only would I be able to be at home every day and evening, but my husband would be at home with us too during the day. All five of us, stuck at home, together, all the time. I wondered at first how long it would take before we went crazy and it would affect our marriage. As of today, he has been working from home for almost 3 years. We have loved every second of it. He’s always wanted to be home, I’ve always wanted be home, and we are now both home, all thanks to God.

What an amazing journey we’ve been on. All thanks to God’s calling that I should homeschool. I knew it came from him and I took that leap of faith, trusting that He would provide. And He sure did. In big ways.

How has God been there for you lately?

miracle monday - homeschool - gatherlovegrow

Leave a Reply

