Making Bread – For Beginners

I’ve long wanted to learn how to make bread. I have memories of a special older woman from my childhood who would work hard all day at making multiple loaves of bread for me and her family. I was mesmerized and loved watching her. And the smell, oh the smell! Nothing beats the smell of freshly baked bread!

making bread for beginners

Even though my skills in the kitchen have greatly improved in my adult years, I was always so intimidated with the idea of making bread. It looked so hard. And it takes so long.

My family has recently started the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace University plan and we are now on a tight budget for the next few months while we tackle our debt. One of the things we go through fast is bread. I figured this was the perfect time to learn how to make bread. Not only would I learn a new skill, but it would help our finances.

For the past 2 weeks, I’ve tried a few new bread recipes. I will share with you my two favourites. They are extremely simple to make and very tasty.

The first one is an artisan bread that you can find here from www.itsalwaysautumn.com. They say it’s the easiest bread ever, and they mean it! My 12 year old son made his first loaf this weekend and it turned out beautifully. He’s very proud of himself for being able to make his favourite treat: fresh bread. It’s as simple as mixing 4 ingredients together, leaving it to rise overnight and then putting it in the oven in the morning. Done! And delicious! I urge you to give it a try. You won’t regret it.

This artisan bread recipe is so easy to make and turns out amazing! It only takes 4 ingredients and 5 minutes of hands on time for crusty, delicious bread! How to make bread.

The second bread recipe I want to share with you is a recipe for hamburger and hot dog buns. I actually have a batch in my oven as I’m typing! I tried another recipe last week, and while it was good, I wanted better. This, my fellow readers, is the best! It’s incredibly simple and quick to make and tastes delicious. Why go to the store and buy some buns when  you can make your own for a fraction of the price? Also, what my husband and I like about making our own, is that we can add herbs and spices if we want to. This recipe uses onion powder (yum!) and I’d like to try adding some rosemary and parmesan cheese next time. Here is where you can print the recipe from nourishingjoy.com.

Quick & Easy Homemade Hamburger & Hot Dog Buns | NourishingJoy.com

Go ahead, print these recipes and try them out. Let me know what you think.

As a bonus, here is another recipe I haven’t tried yet but is next on my list. It’s an Herb and Cheese Pull-Apart Bread from www.foodielovers.com.

Does it not look A-MA-ZING???

HB 2 main

 

Check us out on Pinterest and facebook for more great recipe finds.

6 thoughts on “Making Bread – For Beginners

  1. Making your own bread is so rewarding! 🙂 And even better that your son is learning too! I am going to take a look at the artisan bread recipe you posted. I think I will have to try it!

    Like

    1. We have made so many loaves of artisan this past week. So good! I’m actually making some croutons with it tonight. Mmm! The kids are excited about all this fresh bread we have in the house and also for being able to make it themselves. Let me know how you like it once you’ve tried it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

