Miracle Monday – gratefulness in the mess

I’m going to be honest by saying that this is a difficult post to write. I draw a blank as I look at my computer screen. Not because there haven’t been miracles in my life. There have been many. I’m in a strange state of mind right now to write this I guess. It’s been a long day. Emotional at times. 

So many big things are going on in my life. The recent passing of a loved one from brain cancer. I’m preparing myself mentally for the memorial service in a few days.

I saw my grandmother today for the first time in a long time. I always get stressed out when I’m in the same room as her. She seems to dislike me for some unknown reason. She can be very dramatic and cruel with her words. So I was bracing myself for the worst today.

Waiting in continuous limbo as we await the court’s decision on whether or not Little Miss R will be our foster child soon. With the hopes of adopting her someday.

Two acquaintances of mine from Haiti have recently been shot. One is recovering well but will need many surgeries to repair all the damage that was done to his jaw. The other one lost so much blood I’m not sure if she’ll make it. I haven’t heard anything in 3 days.

So many big things are going on. It can be overwhelming. If you’re not careful, you can get sucked into the darkness.

 

Today, I will focus on the gift of Easter. It seems appropriate. I will focus on Jesus and the life he has given me.

Today, I choose to give all of my worries to Jesus and trust that he will take care of every single one of them.

Today, I will be grateful for all he has done for me. I will praise God for the beauty in the mess.

My life can often feel messy. Like right now. But there’s so much beauty hidden. You must choose to seek it to find it. It’s very much worth the time and effort in seeking.

The messes in my life have given me an opportunity to reconnect with relatives I hadn’t spoken to in years. I am grateful for family.

I have been able to grow closer to God during medical emergencies. I am grateful for prayers and for the Holy Spirit. When I can’t find the words to pray, my soul needs only to groan and I know Jesus understands me.

I am grateful for the amazing people God has purposefully placed in my life. Each and every one plays a role in my life. Whether they are to help me in some way someday, or it’s for me to help them in some way. Time will tell how the tapestries of our lives are interwoven.

I am even grateful for the darn messes. If not for them, I would not recognize beauty when I see it. I would not appreciate order when it is there.

Even though this season in my life is difficult and messy, I know it will not stay that way forever. I choose to focus on all the things I am grateful for.

God gave us life through Jesus Christ. Today is a day to appreciate the beauty of life.

The resurrection of Christ is the greatest miracle of all.

I am grateful for the cross.Miracle Monday- gratefulness in the mess

 

8 thoughts on “Miracle Monday – gratefulness in the mess

  1. That is quite a bit to deal with. Sorry you are having a rough time. Easter is such a great holiday to remind us of our hope of heaven. It reminds us that this earthly life is only temporary and we have so much to look forward to.

    He loves us enough to send His Son. He is always with us!

    Like

    1. Yes. And as Christians we have already been warned that our lives will be difficult. It is during these times that we feel God’s presence the most. He loves us so much!

      Like

  2. Thanks, Isabelle, for this tender sharing of your heart and your commitment to decide to praise the Lord in the midst of mess, sorrow, disappointment, and more. Life is often very difficult and even though He never promised us it would be easy, there is often so much to work through that it can be very wearying. Your courage and your tested faith are a testimony of His work and grace in you. May God give you all you need for this day and may you find fresh manna for tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

