My Jesus Dream

I’m used to having unusual dreams and even the occasional terrifying nightmare. But last night, I had a dream that took me completely off guard. It was by far the most unusual and the most beautiful dream I’ve ever had. 

Let me share it with you and tell me what you think.

My Jesus Dream

 

My dream was set in current time although there were no familiar faces or locations. I don’t remember all the details, but what I do remember is being in an apartment building. I was scared. No, I was terrified. Not for myself, but for my friend. Jesus.

In a strange way, my mind went through the story of Jesus’ final hours before he was captured and later killed. Except that in my dream, it was happening again. Meaning, that I knew what was going to happen next, since it had already happened, about 2000 years ago. This was his second time going through his story. He was accepting to die for us again.

I remember being in the kitchen and knowing he was going to be arrested any minute. Telling him to run, to hide.

He said no.

He loved us so much he was willing to die to protect us.

I was grateful he loved me that much. But I also didn’t want him to die. I loved him too much to just watch him die. I didn’t want him to hurt. I didn’t want anyone to hit him and spit on him and ridicule him. I knew what was coming. I wanted to protect him. I was upset.

But while I was upset, he was calm.

I woke up with my heart broken. He was being arrested just as I woke up.

 

When I lay there in bed with my eyes open, I felt like I got a glimpse of the apostles’ emotions during those last hours before his arrest. I was scared, confused, horrified and at the same time I felt grateful and honoured that he loved me so. I wanted to help him. I didn’t want to see him hurt. I knew they were going to kill him. I’ve seen the gruesome images of his death in the movies. I didn’t want to see it in real life. So yeah, I was freaking out! But yet he was calm.

Wow!

The one thing that hit me, was how I felt all those things towards a friend. Yes, I knew he was Jesus. That he was God. But more than that, he was my best friend. I don’t think I’ve ever felt such a close connection with Jesus before, even while praying. He felt so real to me during this dream. Almost palpable. I know he is real even now, but last night I saw him. I felt him. I spoke with him. He spoke with me. I felt his love for me in a way I never have before.

I want to store up those feelings and bottle them up in my heart forever. I never want to forget how I felt during that dream. That closeness to Jesus was so special to me.

He died for me so that I may have life. He died for you so that you may have life.

He is our best friend.

 

This was an amazing dream…

 

 

One thought on “My Jesus Dream

  1. Your dream reminds me very much of the experience Jesus had with Peter. Jesus relayed that he would be turned over to those that would treat Him cruelly, and then put Him to death. Peter, horrified by this confession, expressed that this must not occur. Jesus responded as it is written (Matthew 16), that Peter’s conviction in which Jesus must not suffer, was spoken out of men’s concern. And truly no one wants to suffer, nor would a caring individual wish to see the one they love suffer. Jesus expressed that He was moved to do what He understood what was in God’s interest. So, if Jesus would allow Himself to be persecuted and put to death, God would be seen as having raised Jesus on the third day, and therefore, God would be heralded as the hero as Jesus offered Himself to allow.
    So, you are put into the shoes of Peter in your dream, saying that you prefer that one you care about should not suffer, which as a fellow human I agree is hard to do. Yet to hold back from acting on the behalf of rescuing someone that is going to suffer inhibits God from being seen as acting on the behalf of a person who God has an opportunity to be seen as doing a miracle for.
    The dream challenges you to see that it is not always in the ‘highest’ interest to keep someone from suffering. Rather, it can be amazing to see how God offers compensation to one that suffers, to then give your testimony about it. Again, thank you for sharing your dream.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

