Fitness Friday no.5

This is it.

This is the last Fitness Friday. 

You’ve made it to end of this month’s workout. Well, there’s still two more days, but we’re basically at the end now.

How did you do? I did well up until 4 days ago. I started with a bad cold and had zero energy. I could barely stand up long enough to prepare a meal, I figured it wouldn’t be a good idea to run on my treadmill. I’m feeling much better today and I hope to be back at it tomorrow morning.

I’ve been taking advantage of these past 4 days to design a new workout plan for February. The last 2 days have been very mild here and it’s getting me excited for Spring’s arrival. Since I have the idea of Spring stuck in my head, I’ve used it to inspire me in my workout design.

Here’s my February workout.

winter's almost over workout - gatherlovegrow

 

Since I love dance, I have been gravitating towards barre workouts. I found a great one I can’t wait to try at fitfluential.com. Check out their Spring Fever Total Body Barre Workout. I guess they’re sticking with the Spring theme too! I chose this specific routine because I enjoyed the fact that it was a total body workout.

I have also been inspired by Happy Fit Mama. She posts quite regularly her attempts at doing a handstand. I say attempt loosely since I believe she does it quite well. I keep thinking how much that looks like fun. So…I will try to teach myself how to do a headstand. I figured I’d start with the headstand before attempting to go on my hands. We’ll see how that works out. Here’s the Beginner’s Guide to Bound Headstand that I will be using.

My yoga time will not be extensive. I’m planning on spending about 5 to 10 minutes doing key poses that will both strengthen and stretch my muscles. I want to make sure I target both upper and lower body here. I am using yoga poses from 3 different sources and will mix them up every week. Here is what I recommend: Recovery Yoga for Runners, Six Yoga Poses for Happy, Healthy Hips, and Yoga Poses for a Strong Upper Body.

These routines I have chosen have me excited for my new February fitness plan. But please, if any of them don’t appeal to you, don’t force yourself to do something you don’t enjoy. There’s lots out there to choose from. While searching, I filled my Pinterest page with loads of ideas. I actually had a hard time to decide because there is so much out there. Just make sure you pick something that gets you excited and pumped.

I need a workout buddy. Will you join me next month for this fitness challenge? Comment below if you’ll be working out with me.

 

15 thoughts on “Fitness Friday no.5

  1. Great post! I pinned and checked out every link 🙂 I started a new plan today actually as I finished my first one. 🙂 Yay! My Husband is very fitness motivated, and after complaining that the current plan still took too long with my schedule he redesigned me a new one, Excited for that I am-says yoda
    Watching the snow fall I am afraid I am not on your spring kick, but I certainly wish I was. Hope you are feeling better soon!

    Like

      1. If you want to learn how to do a pull-up, the assisted machine won’t help you much. Your muscles will get stronger, yes, but you need to train yourself without the use of a machine. This forces your muscles to work harder and your body will recruit and train all the small stabilizer muscles that aren’t used while you use a machine. Look it up online and I’m sure you’ll find a how-to guide for pull-ups. You can do this!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your workout and like how you have a specific thing to do each day, I am sure that takes the guesswork out of what you are going to do.

    And attempting a head stand? Good for you! I don’t think I could do that, but maybe as I see your progress it will motivate me.

    Thanks so much for sharing this post on Fitness Friday at Drops of Learning. I can’t wait to see what you share tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

