Fitness Friday no.3

Are you still as motivated now to reach your fitness goals as you were on January 1st? Are you beginning to lose steam? Finding excuses to skip your workout? Eating a bit more junk than you should? Well, you’re not the only one.

fitness friday no.3 - gatherlovegrow

I have only skipped one workout so far and it was in my very first week. I was just too tired to get up early that morning. My intention was to exercise later during the day, but it never happened. I continued my workout schedule the next day and haven’t stopped since. But I have to admit that my energy level is low today. I don’t feel like doing anything. at. all!!!

So what can we can do when staying motivated isn’t as easy as it used to be? Here’s what I do.

  • I take out my workout clothes the night before and I lay them out in the bathroom. Why? Well, I know I’ll need to use the bathroom as soon as I wake up, so it makes sense to get dressed there. Right away. As soon as I wake up. Plus, since I’m up earlier than my husband, I won’t need to turn the light on our room and wake him. And also, let’s be honest. If I have to search for my clothes in the morning, I will lose interest right away. So, I prepare my clothes the night before and leave them in the bathroom.

 

  • I love waking up to the sun shining on my face. But over here in New Brunswick, Canada, the sun rises pretty late during the winter months. If it’s still dark out, my eyes stay closed and I easily fall back to sleep. I have found this great phone app that has made getting up early a bit easier. The one I use is called Light Alarm Clock, but there are many variations out there that will do the same thing. This is an alarm clock that will simulate an early morning sunrise. I have mine set to gradually begin to light up 15 minutes before the audio alarm goes off. I usually wake up before the 15 minutes are up to a brightly lit bedroom. It’s not exactly the same as the sun, but it works for me. Someday, I’d like to invest a bit of money in this alarm clock right here.

 

  • When I really don’t feel like running or exercising, I like to stop and think of all the progress I’ve made. I think of the things and I can do now that were once so difficult. I used to struggle with my pushups. I could only do 2 or 3 before I’d crash to the floor with pain in my shoulders. Now, I can pump up a good 10 to 12 before I need a 5 seconds break to finish off my last 3 to 5 reps. I’m getting better. My muscles are getting harder. I’m feeling stronger. I haven’t had pain in my shoulders for 2 weeks. The pain in my hip and glutes area is getting better. My knees are feeling much better too. I feel great! Amazing! So why would I ruin all of this hard work by skipping a workout. I don’t want to return to how I was before. I’m not interested in dealing with chronic pain, sleepless nights and low energy levels on a daily basis. Nope! I’m done with that. So what am I gonna do? I will put my sneakers on, lace them up and give myself a good kick in the butt. I know once I get started I’ll be happy I didn’t give in to my laziness. I remember how far I’ve gone, the reasons why I started and remind myself of why I should keep going.

 

  • If your struggle is healthy eating, this is the best tip I can give you. Plan out your meals and buy only what you need to prepare these meals. Freeze a few in advance if you often use your slowcooker. It helps to manage your time on a busy day. Fill your cupboards and refrigerator with healthy, wholesome foods. No garbage. Eat plenty of fresh, unprocessed food. Don’t allow junk food to enter your home. If you have one bag of chips surrounded by bowls of fresh fruit, what do you think you will be reaching for? Certainly not the fruit. Don’t say it’s for the kids or for your spouse. You know you’ll end up eating it. If it’s your weakness, don’t torture yourself by staring at it every single day. Don’t let it enter your front door. Fill your kitchen with fruit, vegetables, lean meats, fish, shellfish, nuts, seeds, dairy products and wholesome breads. It’s harder to grab that bag of chips or that chocolate bar when it’s not in sight. You can do it. It just takes practice and determination.

How do you stay motivated on a rough day? Share your tips with us in the comment box below.

Here are a few of my favourite motivational quotes I want to share with you.

 

Fitness Friday no. 1

Fitness Friday no. 2

30-Day Beginner Workout for Runners

5 thoughts on “Fitness Friday no.3

  1. Great post! I am actually more motivated now than I was at the beginning of the year. It took me a couple weeks to get myself motivated to start a fitness routine, but now that I have I am loving it.

    Thanks so much for linking up to Fitness Fridays on Drops of Learning. I hope to see you back later this week!

    Like

    1. I’m happy to hear you feel encouraged and motivated about your fitness routine. That’s awesome! I’m having a few discouraging days, but I should be back to normal by tomorrow…hopefully! 🙂 It’s hard to stay motivated. You have to take it one day at a time and keep reminding yourself why you started in the first place. Thanks for checking out my blog. I hope to see you again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

