Fitness Friday no.2

Any of you sore this week? Let’s have a show of hands!

Let me be the first one to raise my hand because I have been walking like I’m 95 years old for the past 2 days now! I’m not sure what I did, but my hamstring are soooo tight. Going up and down the stairs has been quite a challenge.fitness friday no2- gatherlovegrow

I think the first thing I did wrong, was to take a long break from running over Christmas. I thought I had stopped for about a week and half to 2 weeks. But no, I checked my Runkeeper app and it kindly let me know that it had been 3 weeks (!!!) since my last logged run. What??? How did that happen? So…of course, everything hurts this week.

But that’s a good thing, right? That means I worked and pushed hard. Right???

Well, that may be true, but I still need to figure out a way to relieve some of the pain and discomforts.

This is what I suggest to any of you who are hurting out there:

FOAM ROLLING! Yeah, baby! That’s right, foam rolling!

I have a love/hate relationship with my foam roller. It works great at relieving tension and knots in my muscles. But at the same time, when you’re already sore, it hurts. A. LOT.

Yesterday, my kids had fun laughing at me since I was making funny (painful) faces while I was rolling my hamstrings in the living room. I kept saying: “It hurts so bad, but it will feel good later”. Yes, maman has lost her marbles!

But it’s true though. When you’re sore, it does hurt. You need to push through that pain and keep rolling your muscles. It’s basically just a deep tissue massage. It helps your muscles relax and recover quicker from your workouts. My legs suffered this week, but with a few minutes of foam rolling ever day, they are recovering quite well.

If you’ve never used a foam roller before, there is not much to it. Search on the internet for “foam rolling” and you will find a multitude of videos and tutorials. You don’t need to buy a fancy or expensive one to start. I suggest you get one that’s not too aggressive though. Invest in one that has a softer surface versus a hard one with ridges. Those foam rollers are for the advanced users. Click here to see the one I have at home.

Tell me, how has your week been? Was it easy? Difficult? Why? How?

Do you use a foam roller as part of your exercise recovery? Do you have any tips you’d like to share with us?

Finally, I’m proud of you for sticking to it and for finishing your first week of our 30-day beginner workout for runners. Keep at it and we’ll catch up again next Friday…

Fitness Friday no. 1

3 thoughts on “Fitness Friday no.2

  1. Hey! I am totally sore! I told people I changed my word for 2016 to OUCH!! So I happen to have one of those foam roller thingys, and it is happily sitting in a corner. I borrowed it from my SIL and completely forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder, since I am sore anyway, why not!

    Like

Leave a Reply

