Adding Matthew 5:44 To Your Prayers

I’ve gone through my fair share of difficult days. Dark days when nothing seems to make sense and life keeps throwing you curve ball after curve ball.

During those days, you’ll usually find me reading Proverbs 3:5-6.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

Even though I don’t understand what’s going on, it reminds me that God has a plan. He loves me and knows what’s best for me. I simply (not always that simple) must trust in Him. Give Him my fears and be still. I must be patient and continue to shine His light during my dark days.

When your difficulties are due to a person or group of people. When things aren’t getting easier because of them.  When the problem won’t go away because they won’t go away. Whatever your situation, if you’re stuck in the dark because of someone else’s choices or actions, I have found that adding yet another passage to my prayers has helped.

Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you. Matthew 5:44

Loving my enemy and praying for those who persecute me, well.. that was an extremely difficult thing to learn. Actually, I’m still working on it. It’s so much easier to hate, to get angry, to yell, to accuse or to have a tantrum than to stop and pray for them. Praying means you care about what happens to them. You want them to get better.

How can you pray a genuine prayer for your enemy if your heart is filled with anger? That’s the hard part. Letting go of the hurt and the anger long enough to pray for them. For this part, I had to ask God to help me. I couldn’t do it on my own. It was just too hard. I felt God prompting me to continue praying for my enemies, even if I didn’t completely mean it. He would work on my heart for me.

So I did. It took a few weeks before I noticed my prayers were changing. They were more genuine and heartfelt. Oh how amazing it would be for our enemy’s heart to turn to God! That would solve so many problems.

Hating them and wishing them harm won’t accomplish anything. Remaining bitter and spiteful won’t accomplish anything. But imagine what God could accomplish if your enemy’s heart would turn to God because of your prayers. Imagine the changed lives.

I encourage you to read these 2 pieces of scripture when your days are dark also. If you’re not feeling it at first, that’s ok. Keep praying. Keep trying. Ask God to help you. Your heart will be transformed, your prayer life will be transformed and even though things still don’t make much sense, your Faith in God will also be transformed. Your heart will gradually fill with His peace and He will reassure you that everything will be alright.

He will make your paths straight…

corrie ten boom quote

Leave a Reply

