30-Day Beginner Workout For Runners

OK everyone, here it is! This is the workout I will be following starting January 1st. The 30-day beginner workout for runners.

I’ve noticed that if I need to stop running for whatever reason, it only takes a few days for my body to ache. I’m assuming that means I don’t have a good base and my muscles aren’t strong enough. Running is not enough to keep me strong. I need to add a good strength training program. Since I feel stuck in a lazy rut at the moment, I will begin with a beginner program. Hopefully, I will make it to the end.

At first glance, it may seem like you only need strong legs to run. Since, you know, you kinda use your legs to run! But let me tell you, when I was first learning to run, I was sore around my ribs, my back and my shoulders, as well as my butt and my legs. I didn’t realize just how much strength I needed in my upper body just to run. This workout is designed to help build strength in both lower body and upper body, as well as in your core and lower back areas.

Once I get a good strong base, I’ll increase my strength training difficulty and add some speed workouts. But that will only be in February.

Since the first day of this workout lands on a Friday, I thought I’d have Fitness Fridays during the month of January. Every Friday I’ll update you on my progress, share some tips with you and you can share your progress, your tips and maybe even some of your favourite healthy recipes with me and the world. Link your tips back to your own page in the comment box so everyone can see them. If there’s anything else you think I should add to Fitness Fridays, please let me know and I will definitely consider it.

30-day beginner workout for runners - gatherlovegrow copy

10 things you need to know when you learn to run

Have fun!

9 thoughts on “30-Day Beginner Workout For Runners

  1. I love love love this idea!! And look at you all fancy pants making an infographic, whoo hoo! Yup just started feeling alive for once in two weeks. sorry for getting all excited on you 🙂 Totally going to be looking forward to this post! Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

