My Running Goals for 2016

I’ve achieved many new personal records in running during the past few months. I’m so excited at what I’ve been able to accomplish. I ran my first 5k in early December…Yay! But with everything in my life going out of control, I went from running 3-4 times a week, to once a week, to nothing. I figured I’d take a break so I can focus on my family and try to manage the chaos in my life. I quickly found that running is a necessity for me. I’ve completely stopped running for about 2 weeks now (much too long of a break), and my shoulders hurt, my left hip/glutes hurt, and now my knees hurt more than they ever have in my whole life. In French, there’s a saying that goes “grouille ou rouille”. This translates to “move or rust”. Soooo true! When I stop running, my body aches. The longer I stop running, the more debilitating my aches get. So I guess running breaks are not an option anymore. I must continue, even if I have to reduce it. I just can’t stop completely.

For 2016, I’ve come up with a plan to make sure I can reach my 2 major goals.

1- Keep my body strong and pain free by adding strength training to my fitness program.

2- Participate in a local 5 km race called the Rock’n’Run that typically takes place during the first weekend in July…and try to finish somewhere in the middle of the pack (or better of course!).

Over the next few weeks, I will design a strength workout for myself to complement my running. Ideally, I’d like to start with a beginner 30-day program and then add from there once it’s done. I have a hard time sticking to programs so we’ll see how that goes. I’ll be relying on you for a bit of motivation and support.

My blog goal with this workout is to share it with you on here so you can do it with me. I’d like to post regularly on my progress and would love to hear about your progress as well.

Keep your eyes peeled for this 30-day workout. You won’t want to miss it!

Leave a Reply

