Paper Bag Advent Calendar

I know I’m posting this a few days too late, but I still want to share it with you.

This year, I have refused to buy those cheap chocolate advent calendars you can find in practically every store. I used to love them when I was a child. LOOOVED them! But have you tasted the chocolates that are in them? As an adult? Disgusting! They taste like chocolate flavoured wax! Once that chocolate landed on my tongue, I knew I had to do something different.

After much searching, this is what I came up with: a paper bag advent calendar.

Paper Bag Advent Calendar

This is the easiest calendar to make. Very simple and relatively inexpensive.

I found the chalkboard number printables at thirtyhandmadedays. They have a few to chose from. You may like a different look for your calendar. I simply cut them then glue them on.

2015-12-05 16.34.13

What I love the most about it, is it’s versatility. I went to the Bulk Barn and bought different types of chocolates, toffees and marshmallows. Every night, I add a special treat for each of my children in the following day’s bag. Since the bag is quite big, it’s easy to add different size treats. I’m actually planning on adding a few special surprises like Lego mini-figures or a silly dollar store toy.

2015-12-05 16.37.16

Since we are having a very special little guest at our house for Christmas, it will be super easy to add one extra surprise in my bags. Much better and way more personal than buying a calendar at the store for just a day or two.

 

 

Leave a Reply

