7 Freezer Meals: Getting Ready For Christmas

Christmas is fast approaching and I’m doing everything I can to prepare myself in advance so I don’t get overwhelmed with last minute preparations.

When guests come over for a meal, the last thing I want to do is spend all my time in the kitchen. I want to be out there enjoying my friends and family. Don’t you?

I decided this year to prepare some freezer meals I can pull out whenever I need them. Everything you need is in one bag or container. All I have to do is dump the contents into a slowcooker or a casserole dish and let the appliances take care of the rest while I entertain my guests.

7 freezer meals - gatherlovegrow

These meals took little time to assemble. If you have everything you need at hand when you start, you should be able to finish within 2 to 3 hours.

I have made a total of 11 meals. For some of them, I made double batches because I know my family likes it enough to eat it twice during the month of December. You can make 3 batches of each recipe if you’d like!

I even added a dessert recipe, which I’ve doubled, so they’ll be ready for our family Christmas parties! You can’t forget the desserts!!!

Here are the recipes I used:

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

BBQ Chicken Wings 

→When you click on this link, it will bring you to a very tasty BBQ sauce recipe. This is basically what I have added into my freezer bag, along with my wings. I do modify it a bit by adding 1 tsp. of thyme and a splash of maple syrup. When you’re ready to cook the wings, you cook them in the slowcooker on low for 6 to 8 hours or on high for 3 to 4 hours. One batch of sauce is good for about 12 wings. Once they are cooked, I like to broil them for a couple of minutes to get the skin a slightly crispy and for the sauce to caramelize. Keep a close eye on them so they won’t burn.

Honey Dijon Chicken

Slowcooker Balsamic Pot Roast

Crockpot Chicken Teriyaki

Homemade Frozen Pizza 

→For this pizza, I make the dough using my breadmaker. Yummy and super simple. I roll it out, parbake it and let it cool completely. Once it’s cooled, I then add the sauce and cheese. I don’t add any other toppings at this point since I want to save that step for the day we eat it. We can customize it to whomever is eating it. When I’m done, I wrap the pizza with plastic wrap then add a layer of foil paper. Pop it in the freezer and it’s ready for our next pizza craving! They happen pretty often in my house…

Honey Garlic Chicken

→I modified this recipe. I did not add batter to the chicken, and I did not fry it. I placed the chicken breasts in the freezer bag then added the honey, garlic and soy sauce. I freeze at this step. When I’m ready to cook it, I toss all the thawed ingredients in the frying pan and cook on medium-low until cooked through. I add the water and cornstarch at the very end to thicken the sauce. It’s oh sooooo yummy!

Caramel Shortbread Squares

7 freezer meals 2 gatherlovegrow

 

My freezer is now full of great meals. I’m ready for any last minute guests. A crazy busy day coming up? No problem. I’ve got it covered!!!

 

Check out more tasty recipes on our gatherlovegrow Pinterest page.

 

4 thoughts on “7 Freezer Meals: Getting Ready For Christmas

Leave a Reply

