My first 5k race

I am so excited to announce that I have officially signed up for my very first 5k race. It’s quite different than your standard race though. I’m currently using an app called Runkeeper to log my runs and they are hosting their very first world-wide 5k race. You run your usual outdoor route, on the treadmill or on a track and then log in your details. I will be using my treadmill. Your date will then be compared with other runners around the world. The top 25 best times will win a gift of a free year on Runkeep Go. I certainly don’t expect to win, but I am expecting to finish the full 5k. I have 17 days left to train and I will make the best of it. I will train just like any other race and do the best that I can. This is great for me since I feel shy and a bit overwhelmed at the idea of registering for my first traditional street race. So this will be a good practice. A good trial run.

I am pumped!

Is there anyone else out there interested in joining me in this Runkeeper 5k race? If you’ve already experience a race, share with me the experience of your first race. I’d love to hear about it.

4 thoughts on “My first 5k race

  1. Awesome, congrats on taking this step. I am by no means joining you, haha, however I am happy cheer you on from the virtual sidelines. 🙂 I have not run in months and months, but remember “dying” trying to run 5 minutes straight. Enjoy, you’ve come this far, I know you can do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

