Chicken Fried Rice Egg Roll

Chicken fried rice egg roll? Yep, you read that right. Chicken fried rice egg rolls. That’s what I made for supper tonight. See, when we go to a Chinese restaurant, I always get egg rolls with my meal. Only thing is, I’m not a fan of the vegetable filling inside, so I crack it open, dump the filling on my husband’s plate, and then proceed to fill it up with my chicken fried rice. Mmmmm! Yes! That’s what I do. Every time! It is soooo good!

 

Chicken Fried Rice Egg Rolls - gatherlovegrow

My husband had the brilliant idea to try making chicken fried rice egg rolls. Well,  I thought it was brilliant anyhow! I will show you what I did. Did I already say how good this is? Mmmm…

The first thing you do is make a batch of amazing chicken fried rice. This is the recipe I used: Easy Oven Rice Casserole. The recipe doesn’t call for chicken, but I added shredded chicken to it once it was cooked.

chicken fried rice egg roll - gatherlovegrow

I love the flavours of honey garlic, so I added about 5 tablespoons of this VH sauce to the rice recipe. Yum!

chicken fried rice egg roll 2 - gatherlovegrow

Once the rice is finished, it’s time to preheat your deep fryer and open up your box of egg roll wraps. Make sure they are completely thawed before using.

chicken fried rice egg roll 3 - gatherlovegrow

Whisk an egg white with a splash of water together in a small bowl. This will be used as a “glue” for your egg rolls.

chicken fried rice egg roll 4 - gatherlovegrow

Wet edges of your wrap with egg wash. Then place a spoonful of filling (chicken fried rice) in the centre of wrap.

chicken fried rice egg roll 5- gatherlovegrow

Bring together two opposite edges and seal together. Cover edges with a bit more egg wash.

chicken fried rice egg roll 6- gatherlovegrow

Once you have 3 or 4 ready, place them in the deep fryer to cook until golden brown. You may need to turn them halfway through cooking. Make sure you don’t overcrowd your fryer. They need space to cook properly.

chicken fried rice egg roll 7- gatherlovegrow

Once they are fully cooked, I place them on a baking sheet lined with paper towel to absorb some of the excess oil.

chicken fried rice egg roll 9- gatherlovegrowchicken fried rice egg roll 8- gatherlovegrow

These easy to make treats can be frozen for future use. For occasions like potlucks and family get-togethers.

Don’t forget to share them with your friends and family. Try not to keep them all to yourself!

Chicken Fried Rice Egg Rolls - gatherlovegrow

 

 

 

 

You might also like…

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

