The end of my learn-to-run journey…

If you’ve read my first post on my running journey, you already know that it’s taking me quite a bit longer than 10 weeks to complete my 10-week learn-to-run program. I can’t believe it. I only have 2 run days left to go then I’m supposed to be ready to run 30 minutes without a walking break. The end of my beginner program. Wow!

end of my learn-to-run journey

You know, what? I was surprised this morning. While I was lacing my shoes, I felt scared and nervous, instead of excited. What’s up with that? I couldn’t understand why I would feel scared after a year and half of training.

I was scared I would fail. What if I get on that treadmill and can’t make it to the end? What if I can’t do it? It would just be easier to quit now instead of taking a chance at failing.

I procrastinated. I almost didn’t go downstairs and run. Almost!

I remembered someone on the radio the other day, say something about “doing what you think you can’t do”. Well, I don’t think I can run 15 minutes without stopping. Twice! With just a minute walk in between? Heck no! I can’t do that!!!

That’s why I have to do it. That’s why I have to give it all I have and try.

Ah man, I hate it when I have to do something I don’t want to do…

I hopped on my treadmill and started my run. Once I got warmed up, it wasn’t so bad. I kinda liked it!

Ten minutes in, I thought: “Wow, this is longest I’ve run without stopping. I just don’t know if I can make it to fifteen!”.

But I did! I made it to fifteen minutes! Without stopping. I never thought I’d see the day. I remember when I was in my second week of my program, and I was completely overwhelmed by the idea of having to someday run for 15 minutes without a break. It seemed impossible.

Well I just did the impossible! Ha ha ha!

Let’s see if I can do the impossible again. Because you know, I have 15 more minutes to go…

Not only did I achieve the impossible twice in one morning, but I was able to increase my speed in the last 3 minutes of my run. I am so giddy with excitement. I can’t believe it. I just can’t believe it!

I remember now why I love running and why I don’t want to quit. Yes, I have my days where I REALLY don’t want to run. But that’s ok. As long as I don’t let it get the best of me. I have to go even when I don’t feel like it. Why? Well, look at what I was able to achieve when I didn’t want to run. Imagine what I can accomplish when I do want to run.

I can do the impossible. I can do the unimaginable.

What I did this morning might seem like a small feat for some of you. But for me, this was BIG. This was my Everest.

I was reminded today why I run. I was reminded why I’m not quitting.

5 thoughts on “The end of my learn-to-run journey…

  1. Found your blog due to a comment you made on another blog. I love this post. I am starting my health and fitness this month, (I’m scared to post about it, but feel I must.) I found this so encouraging. I could never run that far! Cardio is my nemesis, then again right now, this moment I am using your site to procrastinate from doing a workout. HA! How terrible is that?? Thanks for this post, It is given me the poke I need to get going. 🙂

    Like

    1. I was terrified, and slightly embarrassed, to post about my running journey. Then I realized that I must not be the only one going through what I’m going through. There have to be loads of people out there who struggle with their fitness plan. If I can inspire just one person to keep going, then I’m happy I posted my journey on my blog. Thank you for reading my post and I truly believe that if I can do it, you can too. Consider this your “poke” and get going! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Since I just read this comment, obviously not from the bench, I am still procrastinating. I saw your menu’s, and was thinking, “I wonder if I can do that in my theme”-distraction. Ugh! lol Thanks for the well needed “poke!”

        Like

Leave a Reply

