My new view…

Since Summer is long gone, the air is chill and I don’t have the money to buy winter running gear, my running scene has changed quite dramatically.

I live in an area that has a gorgeous view of the river. I’m used to witnessing stunning sunsets and sunrises when I run. Lately, I was enjoying looking at the new Fall colours that seemed to change on every one of my runs. Running outdoors is awe-inspiring. It’s a constant reminder of the beauty of God’s creation.

I was truly blessed by a friend of mine when she let me know she wanted to get rid of her treadmill. It was taking up space in her kids’ playroom and she needed it gone. Well I’m happy to report it is now sitting in my basement. Yeah! I have a treadmill! That means I don’t have to take a long winter break from running again. I will be able to keep up with my training. I’m very excited about this.

This morning though, I felt a little less than excited about my running. Why is that? Well, let’s just say I miss looking at God’s creation while running, instead of my new view of man’s creation: a concrete wall!my new view- gatherlovegrow

This is what I stared at for 41 minutes this morning…

Now my training has changed completely from a physical sport to a mental sport. It’s still physical, but WAY, WAY more mental. I have no visual cues to help me understand how far I’ve run and to give me an idea of how much farther I have to go. I can’t hear the birds singing or wave hello to my neighbour. I can’t feel the breeze on my neck or hear the crunch of the dirt and rocks under my feet. All those things played a great part in my love of running. They made the sweat and effort enjoyable. I couldn’t wait to go out there and see, feel, smell and listen to all of those things. I’m now going through some sort of sensory deprivation.

I will need to figure out how to occupy my mind while I’m running. Because you know, that wall is not exactly what I’d consider to be mentally invigorating! I need some sensory stimulation.

I tried reading, but the constant bouncing up and down makes reading difficult. Not to mention I start feeling motion sick in less than 30 seconds!

Maybe I need to put up a poster, or bring in some plants, get a room divider with pretty patterns on it??? Not sure yet what I’ll do but I will certainly need to do something!

What do you do to beat the treadmill boredom?

Leave a Reply

